Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships

Carolyn Sarno Goldthwaite

Carolyn Sarno Goldthwaite oversees NEEP's High Performance Building team. She assists states in improving energy code compliance and operational energy savings for retrofit and new buildings. Carolyn is the Chair of the Collaborative for High Performance Schools Board of Directors, Co-Chair of the SEE Action Existing Commercial Buildings Working Group, past Chair and current member of the Town of Bedford’s Energy Task Force and chaired Governor Deval Patrick's Net Zero Energy Task Force for Public Buildings. For the City of Newton, Carolyn managed operations and maintenance for 85 public buildings, developed a capital improvement plan incorporating sustainable practices, and coordinated a 330,000 sq. ft. high school addition.

Carolyn’s High Performance Building team received a CHPS Green Apple Award for advancing public policy concerning schools and was recognized for excellence in the advancement of building energy codes and performance, winning the U.S. Department of Energy Jeffrey A. Johnson Award for her participation in developing the nation’s first stretch energy code. 

Carolyn also serves on NEEP's Senior Management Team.